Instagram is well known for adopting features from other social media applications like Instagram Live from Facebook, Instagram Stories and Filters from Snapchat. In the latest addition, Instagram has now updated a feature that tells people your last active status on the app with its new activity indicator.
Just like Facebook and Whatsapp, Instagram will now show your last seen on the direct message tab. Here, you’ll be able to see timestamps showing the last active status of someone you chatted with, on Instagram. However, your last seen is not visible to everyone. Only the people you direct message and the people you follow will be able to see your last active status. If your account is public, then the people who don’t follow you but send you a direct message, they won’t be able to see your active status.
This feature is available in the app version 25 and newer. So, if you have updated your application since December 2017, then you’ll be having this feature. The users who don’t have an updated version of the app, will not be able to see their active status and their friends as well.
However, there is a way to disable this awful update by Instagram. Here’s how.
How to Disable Instagram’s Last Active Feature?
Open your Instagram profile page and go to the Settings.
In the Settings page, scroll down until you see “Show Activity Status.” The activity status will be ON by default.
Tap on the toggle button to disable this feature. That’s it.
By doing this, you will be hiding your active status and also won’t be able to see other’s last active status as well. Do read Instagram Tips and Tricks that you might not know to learn more about it.